No One Mourns The Wicked

This time last year I was currently doing this project *sad face*. Anyway, this project was my minor project for final year, this project was so intense as it was crammed in such a small amount of time. For my minor I redesigned the musical Wicked with a Elizabethan and ballet twist. I mean I literally design a full musical, all scenes, all cast and even extras and my tutor still told me that wasn’t enough… seriously?

So to get my tutor off my back, I made two ruffs with a modern twist to represent each of the two main characters personality.

Underneath are images of my Glinda ruff. This ruff was made out of white duchess satin, I attached flexible synamay on the side with millinery wire on the back to bend it into the traditional ruff shape. For decoration I added a gold trim with pearl and gold beads .

2

6

3

For my second ruff this represents the second character Elphaba. This ruff is more of a modern style as it’s more like a neck piece as I was inspired my gothic jewellery. If anyone knows the story of Wicked you will understand the green and the black colours I have chosen. I’m so proud of this project as it really pushed my outside my box.

12.jpg

In the image underneath you can see the up close detail of this ruff. I had beaded the flames on the panels of the ruff which I am so in love with, I also added machine embroidered green and black flames for the boarder of the ruff which I used dissolvable muslin and I can say it was the biggest pain in the arse I’ve ever done but it was so worth it!

8

untitled-3

Leave a Reply

